Self-Propelled Commute Report – April 2015

trek12Another month in the books, April has finished so I can officially document my commuting progress.  I biked or ran to work 12 of the 20 days I worked, for a rate of 60%.  It’s been about a year since I got serious about biking in, and I’ve been sprinkling in a few runs over the last few months.  Last April I biked 41% in the first month I really tried, and over the April/May week I biked in to work every day for the first time in my life – it’s the anniversary of quite a milestone.

This month I only drove myself in once and carpooled the other seven times, so we did well on car usage.  We filled up on gas a total of 3 times (first time in 6 months for our rarely used SUV) and drove approximately 590 total miles.  I’m going to blame a lot of the carpooling on rain… although, as usual, many of those days passed and I could have easily biked.

For May I’m planning to work about 19 days and my goal is to commute under my own power at least 15 of those days (it is bike to work month after all).

Leave a Reply

