Biking to Work – November 2014

trek12Today’s my last work day in November. I biked in 10 of the 16 days I worked, a rate of 63%.  A bit of rain, but not too bad.  I’m also counting a couple days I ran/biked; the shorter days are making it more convenient to combine my running and my commute into one.  I didn’t spend any money on my bike this month, but I did get a nice rear light gifted and received a shiny safety vest from work.  At least half of those bike rides were below freezing and required some significant bundling.  I noticed even with my multi-layered snowboarding gloves my thumbs were numb when I got to work, colder even than when I go snowboarding.  Also threw some winter socks on and a tight underlayer kept me pretty warm otherwise.

That also means November marks the first time my total of biking for the year is greater than my driving (111 days of biking to 110 days of driving).  For December I’m only working 9 days, and I hope to bike 5 of those days if weather permits so I can end the year having biked more than driving!  Wish me luck, definitely going to make that next year by not waiting until April to start biking.

Edit – we’ve been using a GPS tracker for since about March 2014 to get an auto insurance discount.  As a bonus it is a great way to also track our monthly mileage very closely – I’m going back for the months to document our total driving mileage.  In November we drove about 860 total miles.

One thought on “Biking to Work – November 2014

  1. Pingback: Income/Expenses – November 2014 | LifeMoneyAndStuff

Leave a Reply

