Biking to Work – September 2014

trek12Today’s my last work day in September. I biked in 18 of the 20 days I worked, for a new PR of 90%!  Continuing beautiful weather in the NW has helped, although I did bike twice in the rain and get soaked.  Questioning whether that is worth it, probably not on the way to work at least because my shoes get drenched and it’s no good putting them back on.  I also spent about $80 on my bike this month, for a computer (mostly for training and my triathlon), a more powerful headlight, a couple spare tubes, and some tire liners which will hopefully do a better job stopping flats than those slime tubes.

For October I hope to average about 2 days a week, with the rain and the dark really taking a toll on the riding, but I’ll shoot to do better.  The dark isn’t as much of a problem as the rain, the rain and the dark together seem a bit too dangerous for my liking.

Edit – we’ve been using a GPS tracker for since about March 2014 to get an auto insurance discount.  As a bonus it is a great way to also track our monthly mileage very closely – I’m going back for the months to document our total driving mileage.  In September we drove about 970 total miles :(.

One thought on “Biking to Work – September 2014

  1. Pingback: Income/Expenses – September 2014 | LifeMoneyAndStuff

Leave a Reply

