Biking to Work – August 2013

Well today is the last day of August, so I can summarize my progress biking into work for the month, continuing my self reporting I started in June.  I biked in 9 days of the 21 days I worked, or 43%.  That’s very bad…  6 days off my goal I set last month of 15 days.  Lots of excuses, and it’s only getting worse.  I’ve got plans to play in sport leagues 3 days a week, and it will be too dark for me to ride home with my current set up; I may get a stronger light eventually.  I’m going to set a goal for September, to get in 8 commutes by bike, and additional goals to acquire fenders to help me bike in the rain, and a stronger headlight to help me bike in the dark.

2 thoughts on “Biking to Work – August 2013

  1. Brendan

    I would love to bike but the fact my journey would be 10 miles each way, plus various dangerous fast country lanes it isn’t really possible.

    How does it feel compared to how you usually commute?

    Reply
    1. lifemoneyandstuff Post author

      I’d definitely avoid fast country roads, and 10 miles is close to the distance where the time commitment would outweigh some of the many benefits of bike commuting. For me if the speed limit is over 25 at least a few feet of good bike-able shoulder is necessary to feel safe. For the short segment of my ride where there is no shoulder and the speed limit is 35 I cross the road and use the sidewalk, and I rarely see anyone on it.

      I’m at just the right distance where biking in takes just as long as driving, parking, and walking in, and the whole ride involves dealing with very little traffic. It wakes me up and invigorates me more than driving in, I’ve really noticed the physical benefits of the twice a day exercise, plus my commute doubles as my exercise and frees up a lot of time.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

